Spring Color Preview


We are recovering from a gigantic mega-storm here in KC (and 33 other states…) and I am trying to keep focused on the hope of Spring. I feel like the weather mocked me last Saturday when the temp in OK was in the 60s. That makes this storm even more devastating! There have been some delicious high-points to these past two snow days though. My dad (a junior high teacher in NC) called Tuesday morning in the middle of his class and asked how we were doing and how much snow we had. I told him, and then he sent me on a mission to make a snowman on our porch and picture-message it to him so the whole class could see! He said, “Okay, kids, on 3 tell Deanna how excited we are to see the snowman!” It was adorable! They all cheered and hollered and Nate and I set off on our mission to create a little snowman. The snow wouldn’t stick together, though, so we ended up with more of a snow-mound named Gary…

His eyes were made from cranberries, and, as you can see in this picture, his right eye is having trouble holding itself together.

Anyhow, I’ve been focusing on spring to get me through these cold days. Thank goodness Pantone released their Spring 2011 palette and 2011 color of the year. Here’s a preview:

 

The colors included are… 
FIRST ROW (1) PANTONE 18-2120: Honeysuckle, (2) PANTONE 15-4825: Blue Curacao, (3) PANTONE 16-1349: Coral Rose, (4) PANTONE 14-0941: Beeswax, (5) PANTONE 14-6324: Peapod,

SECOND ROW (6) PANTONE 18-4039: Regatta, (7) PANTONE 18-1235: Russet, (8) PANTONE 12-1206: Silver Peony, (9) PANTONE 15-3817: Lavender, (10) PANTONE 15-4502: Silver Cloud. (Source: here)

My favorite by far is the honeysuckle pink. Not sure why, but I’ve been really feeling the bright pink these days! Luckily that one is the…*drumroll please*…PANTONE 2011 COLOR OF THE YEAR! And this picture (found on here on Pinterest) is the perfect example of just how fabulous it is!

In fact, this picture even has the peapod, the honeysuckle (a slightly lighter version), the silver peony, the regatta and hints of the beeswax. While I respect the taste of PANTONE, I’m seriously digging this incredible spring color palette from Creature Comforts:

Ez explains happening upon this color combo: “I looked across the stormy sea of my desktop and spotted four objects looking back at me in the loveliest color palette…”  Check ‘em out!

Isn’t it beautiful? Oooh! I’m so excited for SPRING! Enjoy your time while it lasts, Gary the Snow Mound!

One Trackback to “Spring Color Preview”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 197 other followers

