{The Sewing Corner}


Some of my mom’s things have been slowly coming to live with me here in KC. One of those things is her sewing table. My mom made both of my prom dresses, some snazzy sequin vests for my former-rodeo-queen step sister, and many more treasured pieces at this little table.

Once it arrived in KC, I set to work trying to find it a home in our tiny apartment. The end result is this sun-bathed sewing corner in, of all places, our dining room. This setup has an unexpected perk: When we have company over, I move the sewing machine into the master bedroom and the sewing table becomes a buffet table!

We’ve enjoyed having this little table in the main living area of the apartment. Everyday, I get to see it and imagine my mom sitting in the vinyl-covered chair with her sewing machine humming along. Every item she made was a little piece of her heart, and every person that got to wear or use her handiwork knew they were loved.

I like to think that she would have enjoyed working in this sunny corner of the apartment. I certainly do! Like mother, like daughter, right?

5 Comments to “{The Sewing Corner}”

  1. Deanna, Memories of your mom flooded my mind as I read about her sewing table. Hugs to you on this special weekend.
    Brenda Long

  2. Super cute! I love multi-use areas in small spaces. I do a similar thing – my desk/sewing table in our dining room turns into a side table for drinks when we have parties.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 197 other followers

