Etsy Interview: {Kaleda}


One of the hardest things in the world to find (even on Etsy) is a beautiful, modern wreath. Nate and I have been on the hunt for almost two years–stopping only to sleep–for a wreath that matches our decorating aesthetic: modern shapes with lots of nature-inspired texture and form. Over the weekend, I gathered a few tidbits from around the apartment that sum us up pretty well (and, yes, they are displayed on a meticulously-ironed white sheet…only the best for you, dear readers!):

Alas, our poor front and patio doors have remained cold and barren despite our tireless searching. But there is hope for our doors yet, thanks to {Kaleda}on Etsy! The shop is run by Vaida, a Lithuanian florist-at-heart who uses nature to inform her designs.

Via Etsy, I was able to get in touch with the delightful Vaida–Thank you, internet!–and ask her a few questions. First thing’s first: Why wreaths? She explains that wreaths have a sort of “magical significance” and are thought to protect the house they adorn from evil. Neat, right? I’ll take one for every door and window!

Not surprisingly, natural forms play an integral role in her creative process: “Wild nature landscapes, flowers, trees–they’re my inspiration source. I like to watch seasons changing, and I try to show every season’s beauty in my work.” 

I love that Vaida’s work is natural, yet abstract: perfectly marrying the modern with the organic. The key is that she allows nature to set the mood and tone of the work, and then she “conveys that mood with symbols, colors, and factures.” (In case you’re like me and don’t know what “factures” are, here’s the answer: the process(es) used to make or construct something.) Translation: She lets nature inform everything from her design to her wreath-construction process. (Who knew reading blogs could make you smarter?)

Looking at all of the widely varying shapes and concepts she uses for {Kaleda} wreaths made me wonder how she keeps it up and stays creative: “Interest in different art mediums helps to improve creative skills, and it’s not a problem for me, because I’m very interested in different mediums. Of course, there are still some unlucky days, when you can’t do anything at all. These are good times for little break: I go to walk in a park or forest (because I really like trees), or listen to some good music, or just look through my favorite florist books.” 

Vaida also took the time to share a couple of photos of the natural forms that inspire her. What do you think?

Hard not to be inspired, right? And there’s even more to kick-start your creativity at the {Kaleda Etsy Shop}! In the very near future, my front and patio doors will be singing Vaida’s praises and inspiring me on a daily basis! Which wreath are your doors calling out for?

All product images courtesy of {Kaleda}

8 Comments to “Etsy Interview: {Kaleda}”

  1. My favorites are the fall and winter (I assume). Lovely! When YOU make some wreaths from your own creative mind and hands, I’ll buy some!

  2. I. LOVE. THESE. WREATHS.

    Might she be doing some kind of discount for your *dear readers* who would love to get their hands on 1, 2, or possibly 5 wreaths?!?

  3. Love the wreaths (especially winter), great blog!

  4. Thanks for great text!

    For discounts and others – I am happy to listen to all ideas! Communicate !

  5. I love wreaths but mostly I’m obsessed with that glass globe-with-a-handle thing you got from riverside…I want one.

Leave a Reply

