{How to Tip Your Hairstylist}


Nate and I have been laying down the law when it comes to sticking to our budget lately. So, when we heard that Jamie Ludwig–the best hairstylist in KC the world–was taking on more clients and could start cutting our hair again, we had to think of creative ways to pay her what she’s worth. After tip, the cost was just over our “killer hair” budget. Her response to our little road block? “Don’t worry about it! I’d rather see you than not see you! Forget the tip and come on in!” One problem: Tipping  is a tangible “thank you” and we certainly weren’t going to skip it! Nate and I finally decided that there is one other way we can say “thank you” in a tangible way: handmade goodies! 

April 23rd marked Nate’s first appointment with Jamie since she started fulltime again, so I set to work on making her first handmade “tip.” Here’s what I started with:

Cover buttons (size 30), earring backs, fabric, and kraft paper.

I used my little cover button kit to make the fabric covered earrings, epoxy to glue on the earring backs, and a stamp & watermark ink pad (one of my favorite things!) to spruce up the kraft paper packaging a bit. Here’s the packaging pre-earrings: 

Mini vellum bag, yellow raffia ribbon, and freshly “watermarked” kraft paper.

Simply poke the fabric-covered earrings through the watermarked kraft paper (after you’ve allowed the epoxy to dry), insert the earrings into the mini vellum bag, and use the raffia ribbon to keep everything snug and give the “tip” a finishing touch!

After I’d already given Nate the “tip” to take for his appointment, I realized that I didn’t take a picture of the finished earrings. Oops! Here, though, is a picture of me wearing my slightly smaller, blue-fabric pair:

I can’t wait to make more little “thank you” gifts for Jamie, and I hope they let her know just how grateful we are for the fab hair cuts! I tell you what, making this homemade “tip” has me feeling inspired to make some little “just because” gifts for my family, friends, and blog peeps! Any suggestions? {Check out this post for some ideas.}

8 Comments to “{How to Tip Your Hairstylist}”

  1. Just an awesome idea! You are so creative! Thanks for the “tip” on tip ideas 🙂

  2. Very creative idea, Deanna! Love it!

  3. I just discovered your blog and it’s so pretty.. love the look and feel! This is such a great idea and better than a tip, if you ask me!

  4. Sorry I’m just now responding, but I just now saw it. Thank you so much for checking out my blog, subscribing right away, and for your kinds words!

  5. oooo, I love those!

Leave a Reply

